Board of Directors

The Kanawha County Public Library Board of Directors approves and generates administrative and fiscal policies and approves program direction within the constraints imposed by legal and funding requirements. The Board is the ultimate decision-making body of the Library and uses the information and recommendations from all internal and external sources to see that the Library provides a full range of services while remaining within its financial and operational capabilities.

The board is made up of 18 members representing various areas of the County as well as the City of Charleston. The members of the Board are appointed by the Kanawha County Board of Education, which takes into consideration recommendations from the Library. The Board usually meets the second Monday of each month.

Interaction and/or communication between the Board and staff members is provided through the Library Director. The Director serves as Secretary/Treasurer.

Erika Connelly, Library Director.

Kanawha County Public Library
Attn: Erika Connelly, Library Director
123 Capitol Street
Charleston, WV 25301


Current KCPL Board Members

Ms. Monika Jaensson, President
Mr. Ben Thomas, First Vice President
Ms. Betty King, Second Vice President

Dr. Mickey Blackwell
Ms. Stephanie Haden
Mr. Thomas Hurney
Ms. Monika Jaensson
Mr. John Jarrett
Ms. Betty King
Ms. Brooke Lord
Dr. Shannon McGhee
Ms. Cheryl Morgan
Ms. Jennifer Pauer
Ms. Susan Poffenbarger
Ms. Angelia Russell
Ms. Susan Shumate
Ms. Anne Silbernagel
Mr. Kenneth Sullivan
Mr. Ben Thomas
Mr. Don Wilson
Mr. James Withrow