Linda G. Wright Award

Linda Brumfield is the recipient of the 2017 Linda G. Wright Award.* Linda was presented with the award at the annual KCPL Staff Development Day event held on February 22nd.

As a Branch Administrative Specialist at the Dunbar Branch Library, Linda manages the supplies and supply orders for her branch. She creates the desk schedules for staff, reviews timesheets, oversees branch accounting, and provides administrative assistance when the branch manager is unavailable. In addition to these duties, Linda also facilitates the PALS (People Able to Lend Support) Book Club, prepares the monthly branch statistics, works the circulation desk, and shelves items in the library’s collection.

Originally from Clarksburg and a student at West Virginia Business College, Linda married her husband and moved to Huntington in 1968. She says that change was the start of her library life. She began working for the Cabell County Library system and worked at their various branches and bookmobile for 18 years. After a short stint of living in South Carolina and working for the school systems there, Linda and her family moved back to West Virginia in 1991, which is when she started working for KCPL at the St. Albans Branch Library. She spent seven years there, worked for a short while at Riverside Public Library, and then moved to a supervisory position at the Main Library where she worked for another seven years. She transferred to Dunbar Branch Library in 2007 and has been there since. Linda has been with KCPL for the most part of 26 years.

Linda loves the branch library atmosphere, and she loves libraries in general. She says, “I can honestly say that libraries have been my thing since I was 19,” and that is apparent in the excellent service she provides to the public.

*The Linda G. Wright Award for Excellence in Library Service is an individual achievement award which recognizes a Kanawha County Public Library staff member who has contributed to outstanding customer service, as well as showing exceptional leadership, initiative and willingness to share their skills with others in the organization during the past year. KCPL is dedicated to providing excellent public service in a community where learning and reading are revered and being well-informed is valued.

Previous Award Winners
  • 2016 – Henry Pickens Sr.
  • 2015 – Pat Abbott
  • 2014 – Terry Wooten
  • 2013 – Craig Lefteroff
  • 2012 – Susan Saylor
  • 2011 – Mike Burgess
  • 2010 – Toni Blessing