Upcoming Classes
Dec. 6, 6:00 PM
Elk Valley Express Library
Dec. 14, 11:30 AM
Riverside Public Library
Dec. 29, 6:00 PM
Riverside Public Library
Jan. 9, 6:00 PM
Nitro Public Library
Jan. 11, 11:30 AM
Riverside Public Library
More Events ≈
Homework Help
Newspapers and Online Resources
Papers at Kanawha County Public Library
We collect the Gazette 1924 to date and Daily Mail 1914 to date. Some stray film earlier. There is no index, so having a date is useful.
Read More ≈
WV Newspaper Microfilm at the WV Archives
This is a list of the cities collected by the Archives. Clicking on the county will display their holdings for that paper.
Learn More ≈
WV Archive Vital Records Project
The Archives is digitizing historic birth, death & marriage records. This is a work in progress & more is being added.
Learn More ≈
Harden & Harden Funeral Home
The Archive is home to the Harden & Harden Funeral Home records. This is an alphabetic name listing.
Read More ≈
Charleston Newspaper Library
The two newspapers have an index 1985 to date. Searching is free. "Library Card" is not your KCPL card. It is $4.95 to open each article.
Learn More ≈
Library of Congress Newspapers
The Library of Congress has scanned some newspapers, which can be searched for free.
Read More ≈
Newspaper Archive: Charleston Historical Newspapers
Search back issues of the Charleston, Beckley, Bluefield, Fayetteville, Morgantown, & Weirton digital microfilm. Log in with card & pin.
Read More ≈
History of Charleston and Kanawha County, West Virginia, and representative citizens
Laidley's history is now digital & offers biographies of noted families.
Read More ≈
Genealogy Groups in Kanawha County
Family History Center of the LDS
Offering access to some of their genealogy databases at the Family History Center on McClure Parkway. Directions at website.
Learn More ≈
Genealogy posted to the web
West Virginia Genweb Project
Begun in 1996 volunteers share their research on families, cemeteries etc.
More Info ≈
The Tombstone Project
Links to county cemetery indexes. There is some overlap with the WVGen Web, but not totally.
More Info ≈
Family Search
Free genealogy resources outside of Ancestry.com from the Latter Day Saints.
Learn More ≈
Cyndi's List
Cyndi's List began in the early days of internet genealogy. This is a link to her WV resources.
More Info ≈