Upcoming Classes
Nov. 20, 6:00 PM
Dunbar Branch Library
Nov. 27, 6:00 PM
Clendenin Branch Library
Nov. 27, 1:30 PM
Elk Valley Branch Library
Nov. 27, 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm
Sissonville Branch Library
Nov. 29, 6:00 PM
Dunbar Branch Library
More Events ≈
Homework Help
Finding Government Agencies and Departments
USA.gov
USA.gov is designed to be the first place to look for government information. A Google of government geared to the average citizen.
Read More ≈
govinfo.gov
Use this helpful resource to find information about all three branches of government.
Read More ≈
Federal Register
The Federal Register is a daily publication of information regarding Federal agencies. Included is an archive of previous publications.
Read More ≈
USA.Gov’s list of agencies and departments
Information on federal government departments and agencies including staff and addresses.
Read More ≈
WVU Regional Government Documents
Find helpful links to Federal and West Virginia government documents. WVU is the Regional Federal Depository Library for WV.
Read More ≈
The Executive Branch
The White House
Come here to find the latest news and issues, how to contact the president, vice president, speeches, news releases and more.
Read More ≈
Cabinet Members
Current Cabinet members with links to their offices.
Read More ≈
Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
Released by the White House Press Secretary.
Read More ≈
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Online access to the public papers of Former President's Barack Obama, George Bush, Bill Clinton, and George H.W. Bush.
Read More ≈
Presidential Biographies
Biographical information about all the Presidents of the United States. Great for discovering the events of a presidency.
Read More ≈
Economic Report of the President
Annual report of U.S. economy. 1995-2018 available online.
Read More ≈
The Supreme Court
US Supreme Court
Docket of pending cases, opinions for recent cases, biographical information on Court Justices
Read More ≈
FindLaw -
Archive of US Supreme Court Decisions.
Read More ≈
Legal Information Institute
Run by Cornell University, the Legal Information Institute links to laws, codes, cases and more.
Read More ≈
U.S. Reports
The opinions of the Supreme Court.
Read More ≈
Census and Statistical Information
American Factfinder 2
American Factfinder offers quick demographic information at national, state, county and municipal levels. Users can also build reports.
Read More ≈
FedStats
Go here to find statistics from hundreds of federal agencies.
Read More ≈
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Tracking employment statistics, consumer price index and more
Read More ≈
Economic Indicators
Information about GDP and other economic indicators.
Read More ≈
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Includes statistical information and details about different occupations, including occupations by state.
Read More ≈
US Government Accountability Office
An independent, nonpartisan congressional agency that tracks spending issues. Their reports are online.
Read More ≈
The Legislature
The Senate
Webpage devoted to members of the Senate with links to their offices and work. Includes Washington and home office contacts.
Read More ≈
The House of Representatives
Webpage devoted to the members of the House with links to their offices and work. Includes Washington and home office contacts.
Read More ≈
Congress.gov
Information on both houses with a strong focus on tracking legislation. Formerly Thomas.gov
Read More ≈
Congressional Directory
Official directory of the U.S. Congress.
Read More ≈
Congressional Record
Daily record of U.S. Congress.
Read More ≈
United States Code
This online resource is best used when used in combination with the print U.S. Code resource.
Read More ≈
Other Useful Government Information
Budget of the U.S. Government
United States government budget information for years 1996-current.
Read More ≈
Catalog of Domestic Assistance
Lists all Federal programs available to state and local governments and other groups, including individuals.
Read More ≈
Social Security Handbook
This government resource will help answer your questions about Social Security.
Read More ≈
Constitution of the United States of America
This is a document provided by the Government Printing Office, which includes an analysis and interpretation of the Constitution.
Read More ≈
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
Resource to help teach children about the U.S. Government
Read More ≈